Workshop II


Challenges and Opportunities of Carbon Capture Utilization and Storage (CCUS)

Attendance is free of charge for BGS 2021 Congress delegates


Camelia Knapp (V. Brown Monnett Chair Professor & Head of the Boone Pickens School of Geology)
Autumn Haasgma (Battelle Memorial Institute, chair of AAPG CCUS in 2021 and 2022)
Erkan Ay (Shell and SEG CO2 Subcommittee),
Hannes Leetaru (Illinois Geological Survey),
Yevhen Holubnyak (Kansas Geological Survey)
Sallie Greenberg (Illinois State Geological Survey)
Sherilyn Williams-Stroud (Illinois State Geological Survey)
Alexander Goertz (Octio Gravitude)
Joel Sminchak (Battle)

Short Description:

Under increasingly stricter national and international regulations on greenhouse gas emissions, storage of CO2 in geologic formations has proved to be a feasible and vital solution for reduction of carbon emissions and climate change mitigation. To achieve the 2°C climate goal set by the Paris Agreement at least cost, projections by the International Energy Agency indicate that around 4,000 million tons of CO2 per year would need to be captured and stored by 2040, growing to around 6,000 million tons per year by 2050. Currently, approximately 20 large-scale carbon capture, utilization, and storage (CCUS) projects are operational around the world with ~30 billion USD investment in comparison to more than 2 trillion USD spent on renewable energy. Therefore, a significant opportunity exists for CCUS nationally and globally.

This workshop will highlight geological and geophysical characterization projects from all around the world showcasing case studies with over 15 years of experience in CO2 injection and monitoring. Topics will include (1) feasibility for subsurface CO2 storage, (2) CO2 enhanced oil and gas recovery, (3) monitoring technologies, (4) risk assessment, and (5) societal impact and acceptance.

Organizing team:

Camelia Knapp (V. Brown Monnett Chair Professor & Head of the Boone Pickens School of Geology)
Florina Tuluca (Romanian Society of Applied Geophysics & University of Bucharest)